Uncategorized

VISITING NIGERIA AFTER 11 YEARS AWAY!!

FIRST OF ALL, my accent must be addressed! I’ve always thought I had a fairly mixed Nigerian-British accent – apparently not. Normally, when my fam from Naij come here on holiday, I adjust my accent to be more Nigerian, so they don’t kill me with ‘ehn????’ [What??] or ‘Ki’lo so?’ [What did you say?] But while actually in Nigeria, I realised how British my accent really was…

The electricity struggle was also fairly real lol. So because in Nigeria, electricity is not unlimited like it is abroad, you can go days without PHCN (the power supplier) supplying any electricity. I literally remember putting FanYogo (frozen yoghurt) in the freezer in the first week of my trip. Best believe two weeks later, it was still liquid! 😀

As at April there was also fuel scarcity so we weren’t really able to gallivant as desired. The driver literally was literally out the whole day sometimes looking for fuel, but the places we did go were fun.

Redemption Camp – we had a little family reunion at Camp where we stayed for the weekend to attend the special Children and Teens Holy Ghost Service. It had been 11 years since my fam saw me and my grandparents didn’t know I was in Nigeria!  They were SO surprised to see me, so you can imagine all the ‘Ahh, you’ve grown o’ comments. Someone even said to my mum ‘E ni pe di Grandma o’… (Translation: it won’t be long till you’re grandma o – i.e.  it wont be long till I start having kids)!

Aside from the actual camp auditorium where the event was held, there were chalets on the site where we stayed. We all squeezed into like 5 chalets – alternating who slept on the floor and all sorts. It was cute 🙂 One night though, the electricity went off which obviously meant the AC stopped working, so we went outside to lie down on mats for like half an hour. Best believe mosquitos feasted on my ears. They were C O V E R E D in bites.

While at Camp, we went to Emmanuel Park – a little amusement park that had been/ was being built.

IMG-20161025-WA0025 (2).jpg

I was a bit confused as to the status of its construction – why am I seeing construction workers while on a ride?? – health and saf…anyway *sips tea*.

We also went to Festac to see my grandparents, aunts and uncles. I went to Tradefair market with my aunt, if you know Nigerian markets, you knowwww the stress involved – it was so hot and busy! We bought some waist beads (ileke), jewellery and Xpression. I rode on okada (motorbike) and keke napep (trycicle with no doors)

okadariderandkekes
Image source

Although it was fun, I won’t lie, I clung on so tight to the okada man for dear life that he was like “Why you dey fear like this na?” Ain’t nobody about to fall off a motorbike!!

I also visited an orphanage in Otta which was humbling, and was reunited with my childhood friend and brother after 11 years. I planned to turn up at his school and surprise him on his birthday but that didn’t quite work out (he ruined it). Because it had been so long, I was sceptical as to how well we’d get on but really it was like we were never apart.

You know what? I’m gonna have to do a part two…it will be juicier so you berra click here  so you don’t miss it!

Also, I’ve missed you all!!!!!! Don’t leave without saying hey!

7 thoughts on “VISITING NIGERIA AFTER 11 YEARS AWAY!!

  1. lol funny write up. The tricycles with no doors are called ‘keke Marwa’ or ‘keke napep’. Molue on the other hand are the big yellow and black mercedes 911 buses, where you will find mobile chemists selling all sorts of drugs while you’re all packed in like sardines. I’m pretty sure your family wouldn’t have allowed you on that, it’s a massive yellow coffin in my opinion.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

